PCRMM Webinar: Pain Mechanisms and Treatment Choices in Hypermobility Disorders


Out of stock

PCRMM Webinar: Pain Mechanisms and Treatment Choices in Hypermobility Disorders

Tuesday 27th September 2022, 7 – 8.30pm

This engaging and extremely interesting webinar will be given by Dr Alan Hakim, a Rheumatologist at The Wellington Hospital, HCA Healthcare who works closely with the Ehlers-Danlos Society.

He will be covering pain mechanisms and run a Q&A in:

  1. Joint instability, poor proprioception and injury
  2. Fibromyalgia
  3. Neuropathic pain
  4. Causes of visceral pain in hypermobility disorders, and
  5. Anxiety, autonomic dysfunction, and pain

Dr Hakim previously practiced in Rheumatology and Acute Medicine at Barts Health, London and recently joined UCLH as an honorary consultant in research.

He is an experienced medical leader at hospital director and executive level having been service lead in Rheumatology, Acute Medicine, and in Accident and Emergency, and a Trust Director in Strategy and Business Improvement. He was also a Board member for 5 years with CWHHE clinical commissioning group, Northwest London.

With over 100 original research and review papers in rheumatic diseases and medical education, Dr Hakim has also been a guest editor for the American Journal of Medical Genetics, and edited 5 books including “Hypermobility, Fibromyalgia, and Chronic Pain” and the UK and USA editions of the “Oxford Handbook of Rheumatology”. He leads an ongoing large education and research portfolio.

Dr Hakim works closely with the Ehlers-Danlos Society and the International Consortium on the Ehlers-Danlos Syndromes and Hypermobility Spectrum Disorders, is a member of the Medical and Scientific Board for the Society, and serves on the Steering Committee for the consortium as chair of the Hypermobile EDS/HSD Committee. He is the Director of Education at the Society, and Lead for their clinical education and support programme, EDS ECHO. In 2019 the EDS and HSD international community awarded Dr Hakim the Ehlers-Danlos Society ‘Clinician of the Year’ award for contribution to the care of persons with EDS and HSD.